Uncategorized

Why You Should Go to a Writers Conference

My dear friend, Nicole, and fellow writer who I met through Southern New Hampshire’s online English and Creative Writing degree program recently attended her first writing conference. I was hoping to be able to attend it with her but life got in the way. Oh well, there’s always next year!

Check out her wonderful and insightful post about why every writer should attend a conference at least once in their lives.

Nicole Starleigh

My first real conference as a self-identified writer was the Atlanta Writing Workshop on February 20, 2016. It was only a few hours’ drive from home, so I booked a room in the same hotel hosting the conference and took my family down to Atlanta for the weekend. I had no idea what to expect as I’d never been to one before, but I will tell you this: I’d do it again in a heartbeat. Here are my 5 reasons why you should attend a writers conference ASAP:

1.) Birds of a Feather (Pen)…

wood-sea-ocean-wall

The first thing that excited me was the chance to be surrounded by like-minds. Writing is such a lonely life most of the time. Sure, I have a great bunch of writerly friends online, most I have never met in person, but that doesn’t change the benefits of our friendship. In reality, though, when I sit…

View original post 911 more words

Leave a Reply

